Skip to main content

Minister Thomas Byrne congratulates primary schools celebrating 10 years promoting EU in classrooms

Taoiseach Micheál Martin and Minister of State for European Affairs, Thomas Byrne today congratulated pupils and teachers from Gardiner Street Primary School in Dublin; Scoil na Maighdine Mhuire in Newmarket on Fergus, County Clare; and St Thomas’ National School in Rathowen, County Westmeath, during an online event celebrating the 10th Anniversary of the Blue Star Programme, which is funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs.

The three primary schools received a 10-Year Legacy Award, having participated in the programme since it began in 2011.

In a video message, the Taoiseach told the pupils: “I am delighted that the creativity and energy of this sustained commitment to Blue Star is being recognised with the 10-year Legacy Award. I am deeply impressed with all the great project work by Blue Star pupils and teachers, all across the country, through the very difficult period of school closures.

Attending the online event, which also aimed to celebrate Europe Week, Minister Byrne said: “Blue Star is an exciting project that allows our primary schools to learn about, and get creative on, our European identity and culture. I would like to say a big thank you to the three schools who have stayed with the programme over the last decade, and to all the schools participating this year.

A further 11 schools received a 5-Year Achievement Award and were also congratulated and thanks by the Taoiseach and Minister Byrne.

238 primary schools are participating in the 2020-21 Blue Star Programme. Over 1,000 schools have taken part since the programme began in 2011.

The objectives of the programme are to foster better understanding and knowledge of how the European Union affects our lives amongst Irish primary pupils through classroom projects and activities.


Press Office

7 May 2021


Note to Editors

The Blue Star Programme is managed on behalf of the Department of Foreign Affairs by European Movement Ireland.

The 11 primary schools that received the 5-Year Achievement Award are as follows: 

  • Barefield National School, Co. Clare
  • Whitegate National School, Co. Cork
  • Scoil Náisiúnta Ghort a Choirce, Co. Donegal
  • Cloughfin National School, Co. Donegal
  • St. Brigid’s Primary School, Co. Dublin
  • Holy Spirit Senior Primary School, Co. Dublin
  • Moyderwell Mercy Primary School, Co. Kerry
  • Castledrum National School, Co. Kerry
  • Camross National School, Co. Laois
  • Tavneena National School, Co. Mayo
  • Knockconan National School, Co. Monaghan

« Previous Item | Next Item »