Skip to main content

Tánaiste announces 2019 St. Patrick’s Day Programmes


Tánaiste announces 2019 St. Patrick’s Day



-          Ministers will underline Ireland’s commitment to the European Union with a visit to every EU capital

-          Taoiseach to visit Washington DC, Tánaiste to visit Paris, Berlin, the Hague and Brussels, Minister Donohoe to visit London

-          Ministers will visit new diplomatic missions established under the Global Ireland initiative

-          Ministers will emphasise key economic messages, underline our commitment to the restoration of the institutions in Northern Ireland; and advance our campaign for a seat on the Security Council of the United Nations in 2020-21

-          Ministers will promote Ireland as a great place to live, visit, study, work and do business


The Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney TD, today announced the programme of international events, which will see the Taoiseach, Tánaiste, Ministers, Attorney General, Ceann Comhairle and Cathaoirleach promote Ireland and Irish interests around the world over the St Patrick’s Day period.


Announcing the St Patrick’s Day programme for 2019, the Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney T.D., said:


“St. Patrick’s Day offers a unique opportunity to promote Ireland around the world, to celebrate our heritage and renew our bonds with the global Irish family.


The Taoiseach, Ministers, Ceann Comhairle, Cathaoirleach and I will undertake an ambitious programme of visits across Europe, the Middle East, the Americas, and the Asia Pacific region over the St Patrick’s Day period, to promote Ireland as a great place to live, visit, study, work and do business.


This year’s St Patrick’s Day programme will serve as a platform to underline Ireland’s commitment to and membership of the European Union.  Ministers will visit all 27 European capitals over the St Patrick’s Day period.


The 2019 programme also reflects Ireland’s expanding diplomatic and state agency presence around the world, as part of the Global Ireland initiative.  Ministers will visit Wellington and Vancouver, where Ireland opened new diplomatic missions in 2018.   Bogota, Santiago, Mumbai, and Los Angeles will also receive a Ministerial visit over St Patrick’s Day, in advance of the opening of new Irish Embassies and Consulates there later this year.



We look forward also to the greening of many iconic landmarks around the world in celebration of St Patrick’s Day, as part of Tourism Ireland’s Global Greening initiative, which celebrates its tenth year in 2019. “



St Patrick's Day 2019 list of visits




USA Washington

An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar T.D.





France, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands  Paris, Berlin, Brussels, the Hague

Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney T.D.

United Kingdom

Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform, Paschal Donohoe T.D.

Spain and Portugal

Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Michael Creed T.D.

Italy and Malta

Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection, Regina Doherty T.D.


Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh T.D.

Cyprus, Lebanon and


Minister for Defence, Paul Kehoe T.D.

Denmark and Sweden

Minister of State for European Affairs, Helen McEntee T.D.

Germany and the Netherlands

Minister of State for Financial Services and Insurance, Michael D’Arcy T.D.

France and Luxembourg

Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development, John Halligan T.D.

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania

Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform, John Paul Phelan T.D.

Slovakia, Austria and Hungary

Minister of State for Health Promotion and the National Drugs Strategy, Catherine Byrne T.D.

Slovenia, Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina

Minister of State for Food, Forestry and Horticulture, Andrew Doyle T.D.

Poland and Czech Republic

Minister of State for the Office of Public Works and Flood Relief, Kevin Boxer Moran T.D.

Greece, Romania and Bulgaria

Minister of State for Natural Resources, Community Affairs and Digital Development, Sean Canney T.D.


Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Brendan Griffin T.D.


Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, Senator Denis O'Donovan


United States and Canada



USA New York

Minister for Justice and Equality, Charles Flanagan T.D.

USA San Francisco, Los Angeles

Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D.

USA Chicago

Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring T.D.

Canada Toronto and Ottawa

Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Richard Bruton T.D.

USA Washington

Attorney General, Seamus Woulfe SC

USA  Boston and Pennsylvania

Government Chief Whip and Minister of State for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands, Seán Kyne T.D.

USA  Austin, Denver, Kansas

Minister for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor T.D.

USA Savannah, Atlanta

Minister of State for Equality, Immigration and Integration, David Stanton T.D.

USA and Canada Vancouver, Calgary and Seattle


Minister of State for the Diaspora and Development, Ciaran Cannon T.D.






Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh T.D.

Japan and South Korea

Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Josepha Madigan T.D.

Australia, New Zealand, Singapore

Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation, Heather Humphreys T.D.

Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia

Minister of State for Public Procurement, Open Government and eGovernment, Patrick O’Donovan T.D.


Minister of State for Mental Health and Older People, Jim Daly T.D.

Australia and Timor Leste

Minister of State for Housing and Urban Development, Damian English T.D.



The Americas



Argentina and Chile

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Eoghan Murphy T.D.

Mexico and Cuba

Minister of State for Disability Issues, Finian McGrath T.D.

Colombia, Paraguay and Uruguay

Minister of State for Trade, Employment, Business, EU Digital Single Market and Data Protection, Pat Breen T.D.


Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann, Seán Ó Fearghaíl T.D.


Middle East and North Africa



United Arab Emirates

Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Shane Ross T.D.





South Africa, Namibia and Botswana

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Katherine Zappone T.D.



« Previous Item | Next Item »