Skip to main content

New Ambassadors present Credentials

New Ambassadors present Credentials



Their Excellencies, the Ambassadors of the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Estonia and the Kingdom of Denmark presented their Letters of Credence to the President at Áras an Uachtaráin today.


H.E. Ms. Charis Christodoulidou, Ambassador of the Republic of Cyprus was accompanied by her spouse Mr. Christos Miltiades and their three children Mantalena, Sotiris and Miltiades.


H.E. Ms. Aino Lepik von Wirén, Ambassador of the Republic of Estonia was accompanied by her spouse Mr. Jorma von Wirén and by Deputy Head of Mission Mr. Ahti Raidal.


H.E. Mr. Uffe A. Balslev, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Denmark was accompanied by Minister Counsellor, Deputy Head of Mission, Mr. Martin Ellehøj.



Minister Patrick O’Donovan T.D, Minister for State at the Departments of Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform with special responsibility for Public Procurement, Open Government, and eGovernment represented the Government at the ceremony.


The following were also present:  Mr. Art O’Leary, Secretary-General to the President; Col. Liam Condon, Aide-de-Camp to the President; Mr. Niall Burgess, Secretary General in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Mr. Feilim McLaughlin, Mr. Joe Brennan and Ms. Marylee Wall, Protocol, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.


The Ambassadors were accompanied to and from Áras an Uachtaráin by an Escort of Honour consisting of a motorcycle detachment drawn from the 2 Cavalry Squadron, Cathal Brugha Barracks, Dublin, under the command of Lieutenant Stephen Bunney. 


A Guard of Honour was provided at Áras an Uachtaráin by the 1 Brigade Artillery Regiment, Collins Barracks, Cork under the command of Lieutenant Oisín O’Higgins. 


Captain Fergal Carroll conducted the Army No. 1 Band, Cathal Brugha Barracks, Dublin.





4 September 2018