Skip to main content

Minister Flanagan welcomes the formation of the new Executive in Northern Ireland today



The Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Charlie Flanagan TD, has welcomed the formation of the new Executive in Northern Ireland today. Speaking from Donegal, where he welcomed TRH the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall for a one-day visit, Minister Flanagan said:

"I warmly welcome the formation of the new Executive in Northern Ireland today and wish all of the Ministers well in their new portfolios.

“It is encouraging that a Justice Minister in Northern Ireland has again been appointed with the necessary cross-community vote of the Assembly. I wish Minister Sugden well in the Justice portfolio, which is particularly sensitive and carries great responsibility.

“Now that the new Executive has been formed, it is very important that the two Governments and the Northern Ireland parties promptly re-engage to advance the full implementation of the Stormont House and Fresh Start Agreements.

“In this respect, I look forward to early and significant progress on the establishment of the institutions to address the legacy of the past, on tackling paramilitarism and advancing North-South cooperation. In regard to the latter, the forthcoming Plenary meeting of the North-South Ministerial Council will provide an early opportunity to take stock of work underway and to advance progress in areas that provide mutual benefit to the people of both parts of the island.”

Press Office
25 May 2016

Notes for Editors:

Northern Ireland Executive
Executive Office - First Minister Arlene Foster, deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness
Minister for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs - Michelle McIlveen
Minister for the Department of Communities - Paul Givan
Minister for the Economy - Simon Hamilton
Minister for Education - Peter Weir
Minister for Finance - Máirtín Ó Muilleoir
Minister for Health - Michelle O'Neill
Minister for Infrastructure - Chris Hazzard
Minister for Justice - Clare Sugden
Junior Ministers in the Executive Office - Megan Fearon, Alastair Ross