Skip to main content

New Ambassadors present Credentials

Minister Charles Flanagan, Press Releases, Ireland, 2016


New Ambassadors present Credentials

Their Excellencies, the Ambassadors of the Republic of India, Montenegro and the Republic of Iraq  presented their Letters of Credence to the President at Áras an Uachtaráin today.

H.E. Mrs. Vijay Thakur Singh, Ambassador of the Republic of India, was accompanied by Mrs. Anita Shukla, First Secretary at the Embassy.

H.E. Mr. Borislav Banović, Ambassador of Montenegro, was accompanied by his wife, Mrs. Vesna Banović.

H.E. Mr. Salih Husain Ali Al-Tamimi, Ambassador of the Republic of Iraq, was accompanied by Mr. Mostafa El-hassani, Second Secretary at the Embassy.

Mr. Joe McHugh, T.D., Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, represented the Government at the ceremony.

The following were also present:  Mr. Art O’Leary, Secretary-General to the President;

Col. Michael Kiernan, Aide-de-Camp to the President; Mr. Michael Gaffey, Assistant Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Mr. Joe Brennan, Ms. Mary Cusack and Ms. Claire Buckley, Protocol, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

The Ambassadors were escorted to and from Áras an Uachtaráin by an Escort of Honour consisting of a motorcycle detachment drawn from the 2nd Cavalry Squadron, Cathal Brugha Barracks, Dublin, under the command of Lieutenant Grattan O’Hagan.

A Guard of Honour was provided at Áras an Uachtaráin by the 3rd Infantry Battalion, Stephens Barracks, Co. Kilkenny, under the command of Lieutenant Kealan O’Toole. 

Captain Fergal Carroll conducted the Army No. 1 Band, Cathal Brugha Barracks, Dublin.


13 December 2016