

# TREATY SERIES 2007 Nº 130

# Protocol to the Agreement on Cooperation and Customs Union between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino consequent upon the accession of the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union

Done at Brussels on 30 October 1997

**Completion of requirements for entry into force on 10 July 1998** 

**Entered into force on 1 April 2002** 

Presented to Dáil Éireann by the Minister for Foreign Affairs

## PROTOCOL TO THE AGREEMENT ON COOPERATION AND CUSTONS UNION BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY AND THE REPUBLIC OF SAN MARINO CONSEQUENT UPON THE ACCESSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA, THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND AND THE KINGDOM OF SWEDEN TO THE EUROPEAN UNION

HIS MAJESTY THE KING OF THE BELGIANS,

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN OF DENMARK,

THE PRESIDENT OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY,

THE PRESIDENT OF THE HELLENIC REPUBLIC,

HIS MAJESTY THE KING OF SPAIN,

THE PRESIDENT OF THE FRENCH REPUBLIC,

THE PRESIDENT OF IRELAND,

THE PRESIDENT OF THE ITALIAN REPUBLIC,

HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS THE GRAND DUKE OF LUXEMBOURG,

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN OF THE NETHERLANDS,

THE FEDERAL PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA,

THE PRESIDENT OF THE PORTUGUESE REPUBLIC,

THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND,

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE KINGDOM OF SWEDEN,

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN OF THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND,

Contracting Parties to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

of the on part, and

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SAN MARINO,

of the other part,

*Having regard* to the Agreement on Cooperation and Customs Union between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino signed in Brussels on 16 December 1991, hereinafter referred to as the "Agreement",

*Whereas* the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden acceded to the European Union on 1 January 1995,

**HAVE AGREED** as follows:

### Article 1

The Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden hereby become Contracting Parties to the Agreement.

## Article 2

The Finnish and Swedish texts of the Agreement shall be authentic in the same manner as the original texts and are annexed to this Protocol.

### Article 3

This Protocol shall be approved by the Contracting Parties in accordance with their own procedures. It shall enter into force on the first day of the first month following notification by the Contracting Parties that they have completed those procedures.

### Article 4

This Protocol shall be drawn up in duplicate in the Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish languages, each text being equally authentic.

**DONE** at Brussels on the thirtieth day of October in the year one thousand nine hundred and ninety-seven.

## FINAL ACT

The plenipotentiaries of:

THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM,

THE KINGDOM OF DENMARK,

THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY,

THE HELLENIC REPUBLIC,

THE KINGDOM OF SPAIN,

THE FRENCH REPUBLIC,

IRELAND,

THE ITALIAN REPUBLIC,

THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG,

THE KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS,

THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA,

THE PORTUGUESE REPUBLIC,

THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND,

THE KINGDOM OF SWEDEN,

THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND,

Contracting Parties to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

hereinafter referred to as the "Member States", and

of the EUROPEAN COMMUNITY

of the one part

and the Plenipotentiary of the REPUBLIC OF SAN MARINO

hereinafter referred to as "San Marino"

of the other part,

meeting at Brussels, this thirtieth day of October in the year one thousand nine hundred and ninety-seven for the signature of the Protocol to the Agreement on Cooperation and Customs Union between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino consequent upon the accession of the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union have adopted the said Protocol.

The Plenipotentiaries of the Member States of the European Community and the Plenipotentiary of San Marino have adopted the Joint Declaration annexed to this Final Act.

**DONE** at Brussels on the thirtieth day of October in the year one thousand nine hundred and ninety-seven.

#### **JOINT DECLARATION**

The Council of the European Union and the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States, meeting within the Council, and the Republic of San Marino note that the Agreement on Cooperation and Customs Union between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino of 16 December 1991 was signed before the most recent enlargement of the European Union and that, as a result, it was necessary to negotiate a Protocol of Adaptation, to enable the Agreement to be extended to the new Member States, which has been signed today. Pending the entry into force of this Protocol, the European Community and its Member States and the Republic of San Marino will apply it provisionally or definitively, as from the first day of the first month following the date on which the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of San Marino, of the other part, have notified each other that the necessary internal procedures have been completed. The Council and the Member States will take the necessary measures to ensure that the aforesaid Agreement on Cooperation and Customs Union enters into force at the same time.

Information relating to the entry into force of the Agreement on customs union and cooperation between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino and of the Protocol to the Agreement on cooperation and customs union between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino consequent upon the accession of the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union

The exchange of instruments of notification of completion of the procedures necessary for the entry into force of the Agreement on customs union and cooperation between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino signed in Brussels on 16 December 1991, having taken place on 28 February 2002, and of the Protocol to the Agreement on cooperation and customs union between the European Economic Community and the Republic of San Marino consequent upon the accession of the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union signed in Brussels on 30 October 1997, having taken place on 1 March 2002, this Agreement and this Protocol will enter into force on 1 April 2002 in accordance with Article 30 of the Agreement and Article 3 of the Protocol thereof.