Skip to main content


Úsáidimid fianáin ionas go bhfaighidh tú an taithí is fearr ar ár láithreán agus comhlíonaimid ár gceanglais Cosanta Sonraí ag an am céanna. Lean ort gan do chuid socruithe a athrú, agus gheobhaidh tú fianáin, nó athraigh do chuid socruithe fianáin ag aon tráth.

Níl an leagan Gaeilge ar fáil go fóill, más maith leat an leagan Béarla a léamh féach thíos.

Statement on Russian Ambassador meeting with the Department of Foreign Affairs

The Russian Ambassador was called in by senior officials of the Department of Foreign Affairs this afternoon. The Government’s firm objection to the unwarranted and unjustified travel ban imposed on Irish citizens was conveyed. Ireland’s position in respect of Russia’s illegal aggression against Ukraine was reiterated.

Ireland’s support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, and its right to defend itself against this attack under Article 51 of the UN Charter, was also reiterated. The Department of Foreign Affairs was given a copy of the list of 52 citizens subject to the travel ban. The Department will be informing the individuals concerned but will not be publishing the list.

The Minister is consulting with his senior officials this evening and will be bringing further details to the party leaders in government in due course.


Press Office

17 November 2022