Skip to main content


Úsáidimid fianáin ionas go bhfaighidh tú an taithí is fearr ar ár láithreán agus comhlíonaimid ár gceanglais Cosanta Sonraí ag an am céanna. Lean ort gan do chuid socruithe a athrú, agus gheobhaidh tú fianáin, nó athraigh do chuid socruithe fianáin ag aon tráth.

Níl an leagan Gaeilge ar fáil go fóill, más maith leat an leagan Béarla a léamh féach thíos.

Presidential Distinguished Service Award Recipients Announced

Irish Abroad, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore, Press Releases, Ireland, 2013

Senator George Mitchell, former Intel CEO Craig Barrett and Dr Anne Merriman are among the recipients of the 2013 Presidential Distinguished Service Awards announced today.

Recipients of the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad are honoured for their distinguished service to the nation in the fields of peace-building, charitable work, business, education and arts culture and sport, among others.

The Presidential Awards were established by the Government after the 2011 Global Irish Economic Forum.

The 2013 awards will be presented by President Higgins in November at a ceremony in Áras an Uachtaráin.

Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade, Eamon Gilmore T.D., paid tribute to the recipients:

“All of these people have rendered distinguished service to our nation and helped to build our reputation around the globe. Their contribution is immeasurable.

“Ireland is fortunate to have ambassadors and advocates of the calibre of Dr. Anne Merriman in Africa and Sister Cyril Mooney in India, who have helped hundreds of thousands of the world’s poorest people, and Craig Barrett, whose leadership in the fields of technology and education is second to none. 

“The Irish diaspora has been central to our efforts to build a lasting peace on this island.  Senator George Mitchell lent his skill, his reputation and his time to this endeavour and I am delighted that he will be honoured for his vision and his tenacity next month.

“These awards also recognise the tireless and crucial work of those like Rodney Walsh in New Zealand and Seamus McGarry in the UK who have looked after Irish citizens abroad. On behalf of the Irish people, I would like to express our gratitude for their hard work and commitment to Ireland over many decades. ” 

The recipients of the Presidential Distinguished Service Awards in 2013 are:

Peace, Reconciliation and Development

Senator George Mitchell (US)

Ambassador Dan Rooney

Business and Education

Craig Barrett (US)

John Martin (France - OECD)

Arts, Culture and Sport

Mick Moloney (US)

Charitable Works

Anne Merriman (Uganda)

Sr Cyril Mooney (India)

Irish Community Support

Mary Tilki (UK)

Seamus McGarry (UK)

Rodney Walshe (New Zealand)